About Us


Mission Statement

The purpose of the Atkinson Public Library District is to serve the informational, cultural, educational, and recreational needs of all library district residents regardless of age or educational background through providing access to the universe of information.



  • Ninette Carton - Library Director
  • Ruthann Carton - Assistant Librarian
  • Alina Dowell - Library Clerk


Board of Trustees

The Atkinson Public Library Board of Trustees is made up of seven members. The board meets on the second Monday of each month at 7 PM. These meetings are open to the public, so feel free to drop in!

Board Members:

  • Sherri Mapes - President
  • Marian Shelton - Vice President
  • Linda DeSmith - Secretary
  • Dee DeBrock - Treasurer
  • Kim VerStraete
  • Pat Sorenson
  • Mary Buysse